What Happens If Your Uber Crashes in Harris County?

Rideshare driver receiving a notification while driving. What happens if your uber crashes?Uber accidents are becoming more common in Harris County, Texas, due to the increasing popularity of rideshare companies. If you are an Uber passenger, you should know which laws may affect your right to seek financial compensation for your injuries. One of the most distinctive aspects of Uber accidents is the unique insurance coverage at play.

Steps To Take If You Suffer Injuries During an Uber Accident

You may think you did not suffer any severe injuries during an Uber accident; however, you should always see a physician to evaluate your physical condition post-collision. You may also develop symptoms related to your injuries over the days and weeks following the wreck. The following steps can also help you protect your legal rights after being involved in an Uber accident:

  • Document the accident by reporting it to Uber’s insurance company and contacting law enforcement
  • Photograph the accident scene and any injuries you sustained during the incident
  • Obtain the contact information and insurance details of all other parties involved in the accident
  • Obtain medical treatment as soon as possible after the accident by going to the emergency room or seeing your general practitioner
  • Request a trip verification from Uber to determine if the Uber driver was logged into the Uber application when the accident occurred
  • Do not accept the first settlement offer you receive from Uber

Uber Accidents and the Uber’s Insurance Policies

If you suffered injuries during an Uber accident, then you may seek financial compensation from the party who caused your damages. It is essential to determine the Uber driver’s status at the time of the accident to ascertain whether Uber’s insurance policy will provide coverage for your injuries. If the driver was logged into the Uber application at the time of the crash, then you may be covered by the at-fault party’s insurance and Uber’s insurance policy.

The Uber driver must have been working while the accident occurred for Uber’s insurance policy to apply to your claims. You must file an insurance claim against the Uber driver and / or their insurance company if the driver was not logged into the Uber application when the accident happened.

If the Uber driver was signed into the Uber application when the accident occurred, then Uber’s insurance policy will be in effect, and Uber will cover bodily injury up to $50,000 per individual and up to $100,000 per accident. Also, Uber’s insurance policy will cover property damage up to $25,000. It is also mandatory under Texas law for Uber to have insurance coverage for all drivers.

Common Causes of Uber Accidents in the State of Texas

Many drivers turn to Uber when they do not want to drive themselves to their destination. Tourists, residents, and minors often use Uber as their primary mode of transportation. The majority of Uber drivers do not have professional training, and therefore it is not uncommon for Uber drivers to cause car accidents. The following are some of the most common causes of Uber accidents in Texas:

  • Failure to adhere to traffic signals and traffic signs
  • Distracted driving
  • Driving at an excessive rate of speed
  • Unsafe lane changes
  • Failure to yield the right-of-way
  • Following another vehicle too closely
  • Fatigued driving
  • Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs

It is necessary to remain cautious and alert when you are a passenger in an Uber driver’s vehicle. Safety precautions are sometimes ignored by Uber drivers (as with other drivers on the roadway), and it is essential that you photograph or record any erratic or dangerous behavior exhibited by your Uber driver.

Documentary evidence is an essential piece necessary to substantiate your claims if you file a personal injury lawsuit against a negligent driver.

The Statute of Limitations for Rideshare Accidents in Texas

The statute of limitations for rideshare accident cases in Texas is two years from the date of the injury. If you suffer injuries during an Uber accident, then you have two years from the date of the incident to file a civil complaint against the driver who caused your injuries. If you fail to file your claim within this timeframe, you may lose your ability to pursue financial compensation for your injuries.

Multiple Parties May Be Liable for Your Injuries

More than one party may be liable for the injuries you suffer during an Uber accident. Many different insurance policies may cover your medical bills and other damages. The following are common insurance policies that may be applicable in Uber accident cases:

  • Uber’s uninsured / underinsured motorist policy
  • Uber’s liability policy
  • The Uber driver’s liability policy
  • A third-party motorist’s liability policy

Understanding your legal rights can help you focus on the most important elements of your Uber accident case. Working with an attorney who is experienced with Uber accident lawsuits and Uber insurance claims can provide you with the peace of mind you need as you recover from your injuries.

The Types of Damages Accident Victims May Claim After an Uber Accident

It is possible for Uber accident victims to seek financial compensation for lost wages, medical bills, surgical procedures, and property damage. Many Uber accident victims miss so much time from work that they lose their jobs and income. They may not even be able to return to their former profession. If this is the case, then the accident victim may claim lost earning potential as part of their damages.

Speaking with a knowledgeable personal injury attorney can help you determine which damages you may claim in your Uber accident case.

Remain Calm After of An Uber Rideshare Crash

what to do after a rideshare accidentUber accidents are often extremely uncomfortable for the Uber driver and the passengers inside the Uber driver’s vehicle. Emotions can quickly become heated as injured passengers yell or scream at the Uber driver immediately after a collision. If you are involved in an Uber accident, it is in your best interest to remain calm and not make any statements regarding your injuries until emergency personnel arrive at the accident scene. Then, you should only communicate information related to your injuries to medical personnel.

Unfortunately, many automobile accident victims are disoriented and confused during the first moments after a collision (which is completely understandable). If this occurs, the best thing to do is remain calm and contact law enforcement. Your primary concern should be seeking medical attention so you can determine the nature and extent of your injuries.

Also, refrain from contacting the Uber driver during the days or weeks following the date of the incident. Sometimes, injured victims want to reach out to the Uber driver to obtain a recorded statement they can use against the driver or to discuss the incident. Do not engage in additional and unnecessary conversations with your Uber driver. Instead, reach out to an Uber accident lawyer who can help you enforce your legal rights.

A Texas Uber Accident Lawyer Can Help You Seek Financial Compensation for Your Injuries

Uber accident cases are often more complex than other automobile accident cases due to the complex nature of Uber’s insurance coverage and when it goes into effect. You do not want to stand up to an insurance company alone as you assert your legal rights. Our experienced rideshare accident attorneys can help you prepare for every aspect of an Uber accident case. Contact us today and schedule a free consultation during which we can discuss the facts of your case.